New Jersey Devils Visit Florida Panthers: Eastern Conference Quarterfinals Game One Preview

SUNRISE, FL - NOVEMBER 21: Goaltender Martin Brodeur #30 of the New Jersey Devils covers up the puck during third period action against the Florida Panthers on November 21, 2011 at the BankAtlantic Center in Sunrise, Florida. The Panthers defeated the Devils 4-3. (Photo by Joel Auerbach/Getty Images)

It's finally time. Stephen Weiss first ever playoff game against the old Warhorse Martin Brodeur, looking for his 100th playoff victory.

The New Jersey Devils will visit the Panthers tonight at the BankAtlantic Center in Sunrise, Florida at 7:00 PM ET for the most important game the Panthers have played in a dozen years. With seven playoff games already in the books (and no shortage of thrills), the Devils will be looking to cash in on an easy opponent. In other action, the Philadelphia Flyers (1) will host the Pittsburgh Penguins (0), the Nashville Predators (1) will host the Detroit Red Wings (0), and the Los Angeles Kings (1) will visit the Vancouver Canucks (0). All those matchups will be the second game of each respective series.

The Panthers and Devils have faced each other four times this season, with Florida posting a 2-1-1 record. Florida won 4-3 in November, lost a 3-2 shootout in December, dropped a 5-2 matchup in January and won 3-1 in February. As for the regular season, Florida posted a 21-9-11 (.646) home record, the Devils were 24-15-2 (.610) on the road.

After winning five in a row in the middle of March, the Panthers lost eight of their last ten games to finish out their season, including a 4-1 victory on the last day of the season hosting the Carolina Hurricanes. New Jersey won their final six games by a combined score of 22-9. In all honesty, any momentum for either team was likely arrested by the six day layoff, the real thing starts now.

These teams last faced each other on February 11th. Ex-Panther Steve Bernier scored his first goal of the season less than two minutes into the game to open the scoring. It would prove to be the only blemish on the evening against backup goaltender (and ex-Devil) Scott Clemmensen, who stopped 28-of-29 shots. Florida would respond later in the period when Sean Bergenheim (11) tipped in a power play goal with five minutes remaining. Kris Versteeg (21) scored midway through the second, echoing earlier season glory with assists by Stephen Weiss and Tomas Fleischmann. Mikael Samuelsson (7) capped the scoring into an empty net late in the third. Martin Brodeur only faced 19 shots, but took the loss for New Jersey. Florida left the game with a 26-17-11 record, the Devils were 31-20-4. Said Clemmensen afterwards,

"A game like this late in the year is better than a game like this earlier in the year," Clemmensen added. "For us to do it here is good. It's a road win; good for us."

Panthers @ Devils 02/11/12 (via NHLVideo)

In the regular season finale, the Panthers clinched the Southeast division title in front of a crowd of 19,057, defeating the Carolina Hurricanes, 4-1. Marcel Goc (11) and Marco Sturm (3) each scored early in the first, Stephen Weiss (20) scored on the power play midway through the second, and Mikael Samuelsson (14) iced it with an empty netter late in the third. Joni Pitkanen (5) scored the lone Hurricanes goal on the power play midway through the third. Rookie goaltender Brian Boucher stopped 22-of-25 shots in the Carolina loss, while Scott Clemmensen was masterful, stopping 34-of-35 shots for the win. Stephen Weiss expressed his relief afterwards,

"Pretty awesome, it's a surreal feeling. It hasn't been easy all year, and it wasn't easy tonight. That team pushed hard, but we found a way to win -- and win the division, which is what we wanted."

Hurricanes @ Panthers 04/07/12 (via NHLVideo)

For more on the finale, go to Canes Country.

New Jersey beat Ottawa, 4-2 in the last game of the season, relegating the Senators to an eighth seed and a first round butt-whooping appointment with the New York Rangers. Matt Gilroy (3) and Jim O'Brien (3) provided the Senators offense against Devils backstop Martin Brodeur (31-of-33). Ilya Kovalchuk (36, 37) scored on the power play and added an empty net marker later. Petr Sykora (21) also scored on the power play, and Stephen Gionta scored his only goal of the season midway through the final period. Afterwards, Devils coach Peter DeBoer talked about the impending matchup against the Panthers,

"When we played them the first time there was some emotion involved. That's human nature. We've played them four times during the season, we've gone 82 games, and three quarters of that team is different than I had there. They really are another team for me now. I'll have a few more friends in the crowd in Florida from my time there, but other than that no special meaning."

Senators @ Devils 04/07/12 (via NHLVideo)

For more, check out the Silver Seven.

Common Thread:

Panthers goaltender Scott Clemmensen posted a 32-19-5 record for the Devils over parts of five seasons. He had a .910 save percentage and a 2.54 goals against average with four shutouts during his time there. He also registered his only playoff experience, playing seven minutes back in 2006, making saves on each of the three shots he faced. He'd like to keep that save percentage steady, I can assure you.

Panthers fourth line center John Madden played the bulk of his NHL career in New Jersey. In 712 games over 10 seasons, he totalled 140 goals and 157 assists with a plus-35 rating and 193 penalty minutes. He also won two Stanley Cups with the team, in 112 career postseason matchups with the Devils, he scored 20 goals and 21 assists with a plus-three rating and 24 penalty minutes.

Devils fourth line winger Steve Bernier scored five goals and 10 assists over 68 games with the Panthers last season. He also registered a minus-14 rating with 21 penalty minutes.

The Devils other fourth line winger, Ryan Carter, began this season with Florida. Over parts of two seasons, he played 19 games, scoring two goals and an assist with a plus-two rating and 28 penalty minutes.

Season Leaders:

Panthers:
Goals:
Tomas Fleischmann - 27
Kris Versteeg - 23
Stephen Weiss - 20
Sean Bergenheim - 17

Assists:
Brian Campbell - 49
Stephen Weiss - 37
Tomas Fleischmann - 34

Points:
Tomas Fleischmann - 61
Stephen Weiss - 56
Kris Versteeg - 54
Brian Campbell - 53

Plus/Minus:
Jason Garrison - plus-6
Marcel Goc, Stephen Weiss - plus-5
Kris Versteeg - plus-4

Point Shares:
Jose Theodore - 9.7
Brian Campbell - 8.4
Jason Garrison - 8.3
Tomas Fleischmann - 7.1
Kris Versteeg - 6.6
Stephen Weiss - 6.2

Devils:
Goals:
Ilya Kovalchuk - 37
Zach Parise - 31
David Clarkson - 30

Assists:
Patrik Elias - 52
Ilya Kovalchuk - 46
Zach Parise - 38

Points:
Ilya Kovalchuk - 83
Patrik Elias - 78
Zach Parise - 69

Plus/Minus:
Bryce Salvador - plus-18
Jacob Josefson - plus-10
Alexei Ponikarovsky - plus-9

Point Shares:
Ilya Kovalchuk - 10.5
Patrik Elias - 9.1
Zach Parise - 8.6

Injuries:
Panthers:

Jack Skille will be back next season, Matt Bradley may be available in the near future.

Devils:
Anton Volchenkov had the flu, missing the season finale, but is expected back for the opener. David Clarkson has a minor lower body injury, but should also play. Jacob Josefson is out with a broken clavicle, and Henrik Tallinder is listed as "doubtful" for the playoffs.

Probable Starting Lineups: (based on the Thursday practice)
Panthers:
Forwards:
Tomas Fleischmann - Stephen Weiss - Kris Versteeg
Sean Bergenheim - Marcel Goc - Mikael Samuelsson
Wojtek Wolski - Shawn Matthias - Scottie Upshall
Krys Barch - John Madden - Tomas Kopecky

Defensemen:
Jason Garrison - Brian Campbell
Dmitry Kulikov - Mike Weaver
Ed Jovanovski - Erik Gudbranson

Goalie:
Options are Jose Theodore (22-16-11, .917, 2.46) and Scott Clemmensen (14-6-6, .913, 2.57). As we all know, Kevin Dineen doesn't make his choices public until close to gametime, and the playoffs are proving no exception.

Devils:
Forwards:

Zach Parise - Travis Zajac - Ilya Kovalchuk
Petr Sykora - Patrik Elias - Dainius Zubrus
Alexei Ponikarovsky - Adam Henrique - David Clarkson
Ryan Carter - Stephen Gionta - Steve Bernier

Defensemen:
Andy Greene - Mark Fayne
Bryce Salvador - Marek Zidlicky
Anton Volchenkov - Peter Harrold

Goalie:
Martin Brodeur (31-21-4, .908, 2.41) is the probable starter, but has not yet been confirmed. Johan Hedberg (17-7-2, .918, 2.23) remains a possibilty, although slight.

Corsi Ratings (season):

Panthers:
Sean Bergenheim - .532
Marcel Goc - .524
Jason Garrison - .523
Scottie Upshall - .519
Brian Campbell - .518

Devils:
Alexei Ponikarovsky - .556
Marek Zidlicky - .542
Jacob Josefson - .534
Petr Sykora - .527
Patrik Elias - .522

Final Standings:

Panthers: 38-26-18, .573, 94 points, first Southeast Divison, third Eastern Conference, 14th NHL. Last five: L-O-O-L-W.

Devils: 48-28-6, .622, 102 points, fourth Atlantic Division, sixth Eastern Conference, ninth NHL. Last five: W-W-W-W-W.

Prognostication:
We've already heard no end of "Stephen Weiss finally makes the Stanley Cup Playoffs after 637 NHL games, " stories. Martin Brodeur has 99 playoff victories. Who has more? Trick question - no one. But Patrick Roy also has 99. If the Panthers don't sweep this thing, we will never hear the end of how Brodeur heroically won his record breaking 100th playoff game in Sunrise. This must not come to pass. The key to this series lies not in lighting up Brodeur, but in shutting down the Devils powerhouse front liners, especially the first two lines. For the Panthers to walk away from game one with a victory, it will be because Jose Theodore stole the show, Mike Weaver blocked a ton of shots and Erik Gudbranson hit 13 guys. This will be a chess match between the Panthers head coaches, past and present, don't expect a blowout, either way. I'm going with Florida, 3-1, including an empty netter (I would put money on it, including the score (in fact, I have)). What kind of homer would I be if I didn't pick the Cats to win?

For more on this matchup, check out our opponents at In Lou We Trust.

For more on the Panthers, check out Litter Box Cats.

Trending Discussions

X
Log In Sign Up

forgot?
Log In Sign Up

Please choose a new SB Nation username and password

As part of the new SB Nation launch, prior users will need to choose a permanent username, along with a new password.

Your username will be used to login to SB Nation going forward.

I already have a Vox Media account!

Verify Vox Media account

Please login to your Vox Media account. This account will be linked to your previously existing Eater account.

Please choose a new SB Nation username and password

As part of the new SB Nation launch, prior MT authors will need to choose a new username and password.

Your username will be used to login to SB Nation going forward.

Forgot password?

We'll email you a reset link.

If you signed up using a 3rd party account like Facebook or Twitter, please login with it instead.

Forgot password?

Try another email?

Almost done,

By becoming a registered user, you are also agreeing to our Terms and confirming that you have read our Privacy Policy.

Join SB Nation Tampa Bay

You must be a member of SB Nation Tampa Bay to participate.

We have our own Community Guidelines at SB Nation Tampa Bay. You should read them.

Join SB Nation Tampa Bay

You must be a member of SB Nation Tampa Bay to participate.

We have our own Community Guidelines at SB Nation Tampa Bay. You should read them.

Spinner.vc97ec6e

Authenticating

Great!

Choose an available username to complete sign up.

In order to provide our users with a better overall experience, we ask for more information from Facebook when using it to login so that we can learn more about our audience and provide you with the best possible experience. We do not store specific user data and the sharing of it is not required to login with Facebook.