clock menu more-arrow no yes mobile

Filed under:

Outback Bowl In Tampa

The Outback Bowl is a college football postseason game played on New Year's Day at Raymond James Stadium.  Originally known as the Hall of Fame Bowl, the game is celebrating 25 years in Tampa.

The NCAA awarded the college bowl to Tampa Bay in 1986, and the inaugural Hall of Fame Bowl was played on Dec. 23 of that year.  The game was moved to Jan. 1 for the 1988 postseason, where it has remained since. In 1995, Tampa's own Outback Steakhouse became the title sponsor, changing the name to the Outback Bowl.

The bowl game is played at Raymond James Stadium, home to your Tampa Bay Buccaneers. The matchup features the third pick from the SEC and the third pick from the Big Ten Conference.

After years of trying to land a college bowl game for the Tampa Bay area, The Hall of Fame Bowl kicked off its first game in Tampa Stadium in 1986. The inaugural game two days before Christmas featured Boston College winning over Georgia, 27-24.

In last year's game, Auburn defeated Northwestern 38-35 in the bowl's second overtime game. Teams set or tied 39 Outback Bowl records and 9 NCAA records in what many say was the most exciting game in the history of the series.

Tickets are $70 each and are available at Ticketmaster outlets throughout Florida and by phone at (813) 287-8844. For additional information or special ticket packages call the Outback Bowl office at (813) 874-2695.

Photographs by, thelastminute, turtlemom nancy , fesek, kthypryn, justinwright, sue_elias, pointnshoot, and scrapstothefuture used in background montage under Creative Commons. Thank you.