clock menu more-arrow no yes mobile

Filed under:

Freeman, Ruud named first time Captains

With the regular season looming, the Tampa Bay Buccaneers players took time to vote for their 2010 captains in a team meeting Tuesday. The team announced the captains today.

Second-year quarterback Josh Freeman will wear the 'C' for what is hopefully the first of many seasons with the Bucs. Freeman is joined on offense by center Jeff Faine, his third time being named a captain.

Like the offense, the defensive captains have a similar experience. Middle linebacker Barrett Ruud was picked for the first time, while veteran cornerback Ronde Barber will be receiving the honor for a third time.

Finally, long snapper Andrew Economos has been named special teams captain. This will be his first season as a captain.

Photographs by, thelastminute, turtlemom nancy , fesek, kthypryn, justinwright, sue_elias, pointnshoot, and scrapstothefuture used in background montage under Creative Commons. Thank you.