clock menu more-arrow no yes mobile

Filed under:

Tampa Bay Buccaneers Release First Depth Chart Of 2011 Season

Monday afternoon, the Tampa Bay Buccaneers released their first depth chart of the season, in anticipation of their preseason game this Friday. While there has been much speculation on what the depth chart would look like, there are few big surprises in this release.

For the most part, this roster looks very similar to last year, with new additions slotting in where you would expect them. Mason Foster is listed as the starting middle linebacker, and it seems the Bucs really want to give him the chance to win that position. Adrian Clayborn is slotting in as a first-string player, while Da'Quan Bowers is listed as a second-string option at defensive end for now. I imagine that changes going forward, with Bowers leapfrogging to a first-string position by the end of camp.

For a more complete analysis of the depth chart, see Sander's article over at Bucs Nation. You can find the full depth chart below:


Position First-string Second-string Third-string Other
WR Mike Williams Sammie Stroughter Micheal Spurlock

Ed Gant
Raymond Webber

LT Donald Penn Demar Dotson Cory Brandon
LG Ted Larsen Brandon Carter Marc Dile
C Jeff Faine Jeremy Zuttah Matt Allen
RG Davin Joseph Derek Hardman Thomas Claiborne
RT Jeremy Trueblood James Lee Will Barker
TE Kellen Winslow Luke Stocker Daniel Hardy Ryan Purvis
Nathan Overbay
Jose Cruz
WR Arrelious Benn Dezmon Briscoe Preston Parker Jock Sanders
Detron Lewis
QB Josh Freeman Josh Johnson Rudy Carpenter Mike Coughlin
Jonathan Crompton
RB LeGarrette Blount Kregg Lumpkin Allen Bradford Mossis Madu
Armando Allen
FB Earnest Graham Erik Lorig Rendrick Taylor Nick Reveiz


Position First-string Second-string Third-string Other
LDE Michael Bennett Da'Quan Bowers Kyle Moore Alex Magee
DT Gerald McCoy  Frank Okam E.J. Wilson
DT Roy Miller Brian Price Al Woods
RDE Adrian Clayborn Tim Crowder George Johnson Brandon Gilbeaux
SLB Quincy Black Dekoda Watson Brandon Heath
MLB Mason Foster Tyrone McKenzie Derrell Smith
WLB Geno Hayes Adam Hayward Simoni Lawrence Victor Aiyewa
LCB Aqib Talib Myron Lewis DJ Johnson Vince Anderson
RCB Ronde Barber E.J. Biggers Anthony Gaitor Elbert Mack
SS Sean Jones Corey Lynch Dominique Harris Devin Holland
FS Cody Grimm Larry Asante Ahmad Black

Special Teams

Position First-string Second-string Third-string
P Michael Koenen Robert Malone
PK Connor Barth Jacob Rogers
KO Michael Koenen Connor Barth
H Michael Koenen Robert Malone
LS  Christian Yount
PR Micheal Spurlock Preston Parker Sammie Stroughter
KR Micheal Spurlock Preston Parker Sammie Stroughter

For updates and news on the Bucs' 2011 season, follow SB Nation Tampa Bay on Twitter or Facebook.

Photographs by, thelastminute, turtlemom nancy , fesek, kthypryn, justinwright, sue_elias, pointnshoot, and scrapstothefuture used in background montage under Creative Commons. Thank you.