clock menu more-arrow no yes mobile

Filed under:

Franklin Templeton Shootout 2012 preview: Defending champs on hand

Keegan Bradley and Brendan Steele are in the field to defend their 2011 title.

Ross Kinnaird

Keegan Bradley and Brendan Steele won last year's Franklin Templeton Shootout by three strokes and will be walking the fairways of Tiburon Golf Club in Naples to defend their title this weekend. It will be tough to win again this year with seven players ranked in the world's top-30 competing, including Jason Dufner, Brandt Snedeker and Ian Poulter amongst others. Bradley is currently ranked No. 11 in the world, with Steele currently sitting at No. 196. Past champions Davis Love III and Mark Calcavecchia will also be participating.

The tournament, hosted by Greg Norman, doesn't feature a normal 72-hole format. Two man teams compete over three days, playing 54 holes. Friday is a modified alternate shot, Saturday is best ball and Sunday features a scramble format with the lowest aggregate score picking up the win.

The winning pair will bring home $375,000 of the total $3 million purse. You catch the tournament on the Golf Channel on Friday from 3:00 p.m. to 6:00 p.m EST. Coverage for the weekend shifts to NBC from 4:00 p.m. to 6:00 p.m. EST on Saturday and 3:00 p.m. to 6:00 p.m. EST for the final round on Sunday.

Below is a look at the entire field, which you can also find here.

Keegan Bradley Dustin Johnson Ian Poulter
Mark Calcavecchia Jerry Kelly Rory Sabbatini
Bud Cauley Justin Leonard Vijay Singh
Stewart Cink Davis Love III Brandt Snedeker
Jason Dufner Greg Norman Brendan Steele
Rickie Fowler Sean O'Hair Steve Stricker
Charles Howell III Kenny Perry Scott Verplank
Fredrik Jacobson Carl Pettersson Mike Weir

Photographs by, thelastminute, turtlemom nancy , fesek, kthypryn, justinwright, sue_elias, pointnshoot, and scrapstothefuture used in background montage under Creative Commons. Thank you.