clock menu more-arrow no yes mobile

Filed under:

2012 Daytona 500 Qualifying: Starting Lineup

The qualifying order for the Daytona 500 is set, and it is the only race in which the order is set by random draw rather than practice speeds. The luck of the draw will see Paul Menard and Jamie McMurray first out to qualify for NASCAR's Super Bowl. Details via SB Nation:

Here's the order of how they'll roll off the grid today for Daytona 500 qualifying:

Paul Menard
Jamie McMurray
Kurt Busch
Casey Mears
Carl Edwards
Joey Logano
Denny Hamlin
Ryan Newman
Greg Biffle
Marcos Ambrose
Tony Stewart
Danica Patrick
Brad Keselowski
Aric Almirola
Bobby Labonte
Jeff Gordon
Jeff Burton
Kevin Harvick
Juan Pablo Montoya
AJ Allmendinger
Elliott Sadler
Kyle Busch
Ricky Stenhouse Jr.
Jimmie Johnson
Dale Earnhardt Jr.
Landon Cassill
Martin Truex Jr.
Matt Kenseth
Regan Smith
Mark Martin
Kasey Kahne
Clint Bowyer
David Reutimann
David Ragan
David Gilliland

Now comes the even more interesting portion of the qualifying Sunday - the drivers who do not have a guaranteed spot in the Daytona 500:

Then come the drivers who aren't into the top 35 and therefore don't have a guaranteed spot for the Daytona 500. Remember: Three of these drivers will make the field today, plus either Terry Labonte or Bill Elliott (past champions):

Joe Nemechek
Trevor Bayne
Michael Waltrip
Kenny Wallace
Dave Blaney
Tony Raines
Mike Wallace
Terry Labonte
Robert Richardson Jr.
JJ Yeley
Robby Gordon
David Stremme
Michael McDowell

Qualifying begins at 1:05 P.M. from Daytona International Speedway and can be seen on FOX.

For more on the Great American Race, check out SB Nation NASCAR's Daytona 500 stream, as well as NASCAR Ranting & Raving.

Photographs by, thelastminute, turtlemom nancy , fesek, kthypryn, justinwright, sue_elias, pointnshoot, and scrapstothefuture used in background montage under Creative Commons. Thank you.