clock menu more-arrow no yes mobile

Filed under:

Triple Crown 2012: I'll Have Another A Belmont Win Away From Rare Feat

I'll Have Another and 25-year-old jockey Mario Gutierrez have now captured the first two legs of horse racing's Triple Crown, edging out Bodemeister in the Preakness Stakes on Saturday just as the horse had done at the Kentucky Derby weeks earlier. I'll Have Another is now one win away from capturing the first Triple Crown in 34 years.

Affirmed was the last horse to win the Triple Crown, in 1978. Since then, 11 horses have won both the Derby and Preakness but fallen short in the Belmont, the most recent being Big Brown in 2008.

The 2012 Belmont Stakes will take place in three weeks, on June 9th at Belmont Park in New York.

The 11 horses that have captured the Triple Crown:

1919 Sir Barton
1930 Gallant Fox
1935 Omaha
1937 War Admiral
1941 Whirlaway
1943 Count Fleet
1946 Assault
1948 Citation
1973 Secretariat
1977 Seattle Slew
1978 Affirmed

For more on the Preakness Stakes and the race for the Triple Crown, stay with this StoryStream and check out SB Nation's horse racing blog And Down The Stretch They Come. There, you'll also find a A Beginner's Guide To Following Horse Racing and a glossary of horse racing terms.

Photographs by, thelastminute, turtlemom nancy , fesek, kthypryn, justinwright, sue_elias, pointnshoot, and scrapstothefuture used in background montage under Creative Commons. Thank you.