clock menu more-arrow no yes mobile

Filed under:

College World Series 2012: Three Florida Schools Host Regional Games

Three Florida schools are hosting College World Series regionals this season. What teams will be making the trip to Gainesville, Tallahassee and Coral Gables?

Getty Images

The regionals were announced for the 2012 College World Series on Monday. Three Florida schools knew that they would be hosting action, but now the teams know where they will be playing.

The Florida Gators have the overall No. 1 seed in the tournament and will host the Gainesville Regional. The Georgia Tech Yellow Jackets, Charleston Cougars and Bethune-Cookman Wildcats are the other teams in the regional in seeds two through four respectively.

The Florida State Seminoles have the overall No. 3 seed in the tournament after losing three games in the ACC tournament. They will still host the Tallahassee Regional in the College World Series. The Mississippi State Bulldogs, Samford Bulldogs and the University of Alabama-Birmingham Blazers round out the other three seeds in that regional.

The Miami Hurricanes are the last team that will be hosting a regional from the state of Florida, hosting the Coral Gables regional. The Hurricanes will host the Central Florida Knights, the Missouri State Bears and the Stony Brook Seawolves.

Dates and times for the games will be announced at a later time. For a complete bracket for the 2012 College World Series, visit the NCAA's official website.

For updates on the NCAA regionals, keep checking this StoryStream from SB Nation Tampa Bay.

Photographs by, thelastminute, turtlemom nancy , fesek, kthypryn, justinwright, sue_elias, pointnshoot, and scrapstothefuture used in background montage under Creative Commons. Thank you.