clock menu more-arrow no yes mobile

Filed under:

Florida State, Florida Boast Six Candidates For Bronko Nagurski Trophy

While only two Florida schools made the list of candidates for the 2012 Bronko Nagurski Trophy, awarded to the nation's best defensive player, the combination of the Gators and Seminoles put six different players on the watch list.

The Seminoles boast an impressive four players on the Nagusrki watch list, including defensive end Bjoern Warner, corner Xavier Rhodes, saftey LaMarcus Joyner and defensive end Brandon Jenkins. Florida has a pair of defenders who made the list - defensive tackle Sharrif Floyd and safety Matt Elam

Since its inception in 1993, neither Florida or Florida State have had a player win the Nagurski. Miami has had two players win the trophy, Warren Sapp in 1994 and Dan Morgan in 2000.

For more on the Florida Gators, be sure to check out Alligator Army and Team Speed Kills. For more on the Miami Hurricanes, check out The 7th Floor. For more Florida State coverage, visit Tomahawk Nation. For more coverage and comment from around the country, visit SB Nation's college football hub.

Check out the SB Nation Channel on YouTube

Photographs by, thelastminute, turtlemom nancy , fesek, kthypryn, justinwright, sue_elias, pointnshoot, and scrapstothefuture used in background montage under Creative Commons. Thank you.