clock menu more-arrow no yes mobile

Filed under:

All-SEC Team: Florida Gators have 7 players

After having only one selection in the preseason, six Gators were named to the AP All-SEC first team, and one was named to the second team.

Mike Ehrmann

The Florida Gators had seven players named to the AP All-SEC Team, a major turnaround after only one was named to the preseason team before the season started. Running back Mike Gillislee, tight end Jordan Reed, kicker Caleb Sturgis, punter Kyle Christy, defensive tackle Sharrif Floyd, and safety Matt Elam all made the first team, and cornerback Marcus Roberson was named to the second team.

Head coach Will Muschamp lost out on SEC Coach of the Year to Texas A&M's Kevin Sumlin, but Muschamp was just named one of the nine finalists for the Eddie Robinson Coach of the Year award. The Gators had a better year than many expected in year two of Muschamp's tenure, going 11-1 with their only loss coming to Georgia.

Texas A&M quarterback Johnny Manziel was named the conference's Offensive Player of the Year, and Georgia linebacker Jarvis Jones won the Defensive Player of the Year award.

Photographs by, thelastminute, turtlemom nancy , fesek, kthypryn, justinwright, sue_elias, pointnshoot, and scrapstothefuture used in background montage under Creative Commons. Thank you.