clock menu more-arrow no yes mobile

Filed under:

2012 Senior Bowl: Game Preview And History

The 2012 Senior Bowl is set for Saturday, Jan. 28 at 3 PM, affording an opportunity to look back on the game's history and to preview the 2012 matchup.

Five players from Florida schools are set to take part in the 2012 contest. Jaye Howard and Chris Rainey will represent the Florida Gators, while Nigel Bradham and Zebrie Sanders represent the Florida St. Seminoles. In addition, Florida Atlantic Owls running back Alfred Morris will also participate.

Conceived in 1950, the Senior Bowl gives the nation's top seniors the chance to boost their NFL Draft stock, as well as the opportunity to work with NFL coaching staffs. In 2012, the Washington Redskins will coach the South team, while the Minnesota Vikings coach the North.

The South owns an all-time record of 29-26-3 against the North and has won three of the last five meetings. In 2011, Seminoles quarterback Christian Ponder threw for 132 yards, two touchdowns, and no interceptions en route to earning MVP honors and leading the South to a 24-10 victory. He went on to become the No. 12 overall selection in the 2011 NFL Draft.

For news and updates about the 2012 Senior Bowl, please stay tuned to this StoryStream on SB Nation Tampa Bay. For more Gators coverage, please visit Alligator Army, SB Nation's UF blog. For more Seminoles coverage, please visit Tomahawk Nation, SB Nation's FSU blog.

Photographs by, thelastminute, turtlemom nancy , fesek, kthypryn, justinwright, sue_elias, pointnshoot, and scrapstothefuture used in background montage under Creative Commons. Thank you.