clock menu more-arrow no yes mobile

Filed under:

All-ACC Team 2011: Five FSU Seminoles Honored

The Atlantic Coast Conference announced its All-ACC Football Teams for 2011 on Monday, and five Florida St. Seminoles appear on the rosters. A panel of 45 members of the Atlantic Coast Sports Media Association voted on the honors.

Kicker Dustin Hopkins, punter Shawn Powell, and offensive tackle Zebrie Sanders represent the 'Noles on the first team. Powell was nearly a consensus selection, receiving 85 points out of a possible 90. Defensive end Brandon Jenkins and safety Lamarcus Joyner earned second-team honors.

Hopkins nailed all 44 of his extra-point tries and converted 40-of-45 (80 percent) of his field goals, scoring 104 points in total. Powell tallied 2303 yards on his 49 punts for a 47-yard average.

Virginia Tech Hokies running back David Wilson and Boston College Eagles linebacker Luke Kuechly were the only consensus All-ACC members. The ACC-leading Clemson Tigers had nine representatives, while Virginia Tech followed with eight. Those teams are set to compete for the ACC Championship this Saturday./p>

For complete Seminoles coverage, please visit Tomahawk Nation.

Photographs by, thelastminute, turtlemom nancy , fesek, kthypryn, justinwright, sue_elias, pointnshoot, and scrapstothefuture used in background montage under Creative Commons. Thank you.