clock menu more-arrow no yes mobile

Filed under:

Hall Of Fame 2013: 3 ex-Jaguars nominated

Tony Boselli, Jimmy Smith and Keenan McCardell each earned nominations from the Pro Football Hall of Fame for the Class of 2013.

Matthew Emmons-US PRESSWIRE - Presswire

On Thursday the Pro Football Hall of Fame announced its list of 127 nominees for the Class of 2013 induction, including three players that each spent the most years of their playing career with the Jacksonville Jaguars. Offensive tackle Tony Boselli, wide receiver Jimmy Smith and wide receiver Keenan McCardell each made the list that consists of 89 players, 14 coaches and 24 contributors.

McCardell, the only one of the three in his first-year of eligibility, is second in franchise history in each receptions (499), receiving yards (6,393) and receiving touchdowns (30). Ahead of him in each of the categories is Smith, the receiver that started across from him from 1996 to 2001.

The final nominee of the three, Boselli, was the first player ever selected by the team, taken first overall in the 1995 NFL Draft. He was a stalwart for the team, earning five trips to the Pro Bowl before salary cap trouble forced the Jaguars to allow him to go to the Texans in the 2002 expansion draft.

The Pro Football Hall of Fame Selection Committee is set to narrow the list of nominees to 25 finalists in November, although none of the former Jaguars are favored to advance to that stage in the process.

Photographs by, thelastminute, turtlemom nancy , fesek, kthypryn, justinwright, sue_elias, pointnshoot, and scrapstothefuture used in background montage under Creative Commons. Thank you.