clock menu more-arrow no yes mobile

Filed under:

2012 NBA All-Defensive Team: LeBron James And Dwight Howard Make First Team

LeBron James and Dwight Howard were named to the 2012 NBA All-Defensive first team. What other players were named to the first and second all-defensive teams?

Getty Images

The 2012 NBA All-Defensive teams were announced on Wednesday. While defensive player of the year, New York Knicks center Tyson Chandler, was not named to the first team, Miami Heat forward LeBron James and Orlando Magic center Dwight Howard were both named to the first team.

James was the leading vote-getter for the first team, receiving 24 first team votes and five second team votes. It should be noted that while the media votes for defensive player of the year, its the coaches that vote for the all-defensive teams.

Other members of the first team include Oklahoma City Thunder forward Serge Ibaka, Los Angeles Clippers guard Chris Paul and Memphis Grizzlies guard Tony Allen.

The second team is compiled of Chandler, Boston Celtics forward and guard Kevin Garnett and Rajon Rondo, Chicago Bulls forward Luol Deng and Los Angeles Lakers guard Kobe Bryant.

Also receiving votes for the teams include Philadelphia 76ers forward Andre Iguodala, Bulls center Joakim Noah and Knicks guard Iman Shumpurt.

Photographs by, thelastminute, turtlemom nancy , fesek, kthypryn, justinwright, sue_elias, pointnshoot, and scrapstothefuture used in background montage under Creative Commons. Thank you.