clock menu more-arrow no yes mobile

Filed under:

2012 NBA Slam Dunk Contest Preview And Participants: Paul George Leads All-New Field

The 2012 NBA Slam Dunk Contest will have a completely new field when it takes place as the culmination of All-Star Saturday Night from Amway Arena in Orlando. Defending champion Blake Griffin and top challenger JaVale McGee are out, with a new field of four being led by Paul George of the Indiana Pacers.

George will be joined by three other young high-flyers -- Derrick Williams of the Minnesota Timberwolves, Chase Budinger of the Houston Rockets and Jeremy Evans of the Utah Jazz. Evans replaced Iman Shumpert of the New York Knicks, who suffered a late injury.

The Slam Dunk Contest will have a new format that allows fans to vote on the winner on Twitter. Click here for more on how to vote.

For more on All-Star Weekend, stay tuned on this StoryStream. For all news and information regarding the Slam Dunk Contest and the All-Star Weekend in general, please stay tuned to SB Nation's dedicated NBA hub.

Photographs by, thelastminute, turtlemom nancy , fesek, kthypryn, justinwright, sue_elias, pointnshoot, and scrapstothefuture used in background montage under Creative Commons. Thank you.