clock menu more-arrow no yes mobile

Filed under:

NBA Shooting Stars Competition 2012: Team New York Defeats Team Texas

Led by former New York Knicks star Allan Houston, Team New York defeated Team Texas in the final round to win the 2012 NBA Haier Shooting Stars Title.

The hometown Team Orlando put up a poor performance in front of the home crowd at the Amway Arena, as the tandem of Jameer Nelson, Marie Ferdinand-Harris and Dennis Scott struggled and ended up with a total time of 1:04. Team Atlanta was also eliminated after the round of action, scoring a time of a little over 50 seconds and failing to defend the event they captured last year.

Team Texas was able to advance to the final thanks to Kenny Smith's burying the half court shot to give his team a total time of 42.7 seconds. Team New York got off to a fast start from the field as Landry Fields, Cappie Pondexter and Allan Houston were able make the early shots without much difficulty. Houston finished it for New York as he buried the half court bomb, giving Team New York a time of 38.7 seconds in the first round.

Team Texas and Team New York squared off in the final round, with Kenny Smith again drilling the half court shot to give the Texas squad a time of 47.6. Team New York responded by with a textbook final round, hitting their shots with ease and providing enough time for Allen Houston to once again sink the half court shot with a time of 37.3 seconds, capturing the Haier Shooting Stars Title.

For more on All-Star Weekend, stay tuned on this StoryStream. For all news and information regarding the Slam Dunk Contest and the All-Star Weekend in general, please stay tuned to SB Nation's dedicated NBA hub.

Photographs by, thelastminute, turtlemom nancy , fesek, kthypryn, justinwright, sue_elias, pointnshoot, and scrapstothefuture used in background montage under Creative Commons. Thank you.